Chairman’s Statement

In 2020, MegaFon completed its three-year strategic cycle to transform itself into a provider of digital opportunities and laid a solid foundation for reaching new heights in business and creating value for customers, partners, shareholders and other stakeholders.

Ivan Streshinsky
Chairman of the Board of Directors

Tell us about the trends in the Russian telecoms market in 2020. How was it affected by COVID-19?

The pandemic has certainly had an impact on the telecoms industry: the Russian market fell by 0.7% to RUB 1.73 trillion in 2020. Retail and corporate customers, particularly SMEs, have been cutting costs commensurate with reduced business activity, including their communications costs. Border closures also played a significant role, leading to a sharp drop in roaming revenues and a reduction in the number of guest workers.

At the same time, 2020’s lockdown saw a mass shift to working from home, which triggered a sharp increase in demand for video conferencing and entertainment services, such as streaming TV or music and gaming, which led to a significant increase in traffic over both fixed and mobile networks. There was also a surge in demand for certain digital services, including information security services and cloud solutions. All this allowed operators with a rich digital ecosystem to largely balance out the impact of reduced mobile service consumption.

What were MegaFon’s achievements in 2020?

MegaFon addressed the challenges of the pandemic in 2020 with swift response measures. In those trying times, we were able to demonstrate financial stability, and withstand the increased network load and redistribution of traffic. Despite a slight pullback in revenue, our OIBDA margin grew and higher operational efficiency drove a significant increase in net profit..

During the pandemic, we provided our customers, communities and the government with an array of much-needed opportunities and solutions, including those made available free of charge. Alongside this, we rapidly shifted the majority of our employees to remote work, without compromising on business process continuity.

We expanded our portfolio of digital products for our private and corporate customers in 2020, concentrating our efforts on the most promising opportunities. We also further enhanced our infrastructure, focusing primarily on improving the quality of communication, network resilience and expanding 4G coverage. We also pressed on with preparations for the launch of 5G, and worked with other operators to engage with regulatory authorities on securing frequency bands necessary for the fullscale rollout of 5G in Russia.

We were able to achieve our core ambition of boosting customer lifetime value (LTV), with this metric surging
34 %
over the year

Building constructive partnerships with market leaders remains an important factor in the success of the Company. To name just a few of these from 2020, we continued to develop joint projects with our strategic partner ICS Holding, acquired a stake in the online cinema Start and partnered with local internet service providers to launch the FVNO project.

In addition, USM Telecom and MegaFon with partners from Uzbekistan in 2021 established Digital Holding, a joint venture that is set to become the technology leader in Central Asia’s largest telecoms market. Finally, MegaFon, Mail.Ru Group, USM Group, Ant Group and RDIF signed documents to establish two joint ventures offering digital payment solutions and financial services.

MegaFon completed its three-year strategic cycle in 2020. How do you see the results, and what are the Company’s new priorities?

Indeed, 2020 saw MegaFon come to the end of the three-year implementation cycle for its ‘Driving the Digital World’ strategy, which was aimed at transforming the Company from a traditional telecoms operator to a provider of digital opportunities, and maintaining our industry leadership.

Over this period, we rolled out our planned initiatives and built our core, customer-centric capabilities: we introduced analytical services to enable the digital transformation of business and government; we introduced a toolkit to build out a single ecosystem of communication, service and sales that brings all communication channels, customers and partners under one roof; and we enabled personalised offers based on insights from customer preference analysis.

I would like to specifically draw your attention to the fact that we also launched the Company’s business transformation with a transition to Agile work, which has already proved highly effective. This flexible approach enables us to address tasks more efficiently: employees can grow faster while the business can offer services that are more customer-focused.

On the whole, despite the negative impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on KPIs in 2020, we were able to build a solid platform for driving future growth and achieving new heights – both in business and in creating stakeholder value. We strive, first and foremost, to satisfy our customers, employees and shareholders.

Tell us about the changes to MegaFon’s corporate governance system in 2020.

A well-structured corporate governance framework is vital for the successful development of our business, as it helps us set and achieve goals, and manage the Company’s risks effectively. MegaFon’s well-developed corporate governance framework also enables us to build and maintain trust-based relationships with the Company’s partners, counterparties, employees and other stakeholders.

At our AGM in June 2020, a new Board of Directors was elected, which included Emin Antonyan, Johan Dennelind, Khachatur Pombukhchan and Anton Cherepennikov. All of them are recognised industry professionals and have extensive experience and knowledge. Johan Dennelind is an independent director satisfying the applicable independence requirements, while all other directors serving on the Board in 2020 were non-executive directors, but were not independent.

Separately, I would like to note Khachatur Pombukhchan’s early 2021 appointment to the position of Executive Director of the Group, a position that had remained vacant for several years. I am sure that his solid track record in adjacent industries will help us drive even more value and be better at identifying new opportunities for further growth and transformation.

What does MegaFon expect from 2021? What are the Company’s future plans?

The ripples of the pandemic are likely to continue to be felt in the market as a whole in 2021, but signs of a recovery can be expected in most segments. In particular, a growth in the mobile subscriber base is likely and, combined with a partial recovery of roaming traffic, it will drive accelerated revenue growth in the industry.

In this context, we will continue to focus on meeting customer needs, developing infrastructure and rolling out new digital solutions. We will continue to develop projects dedicated to the IoT, 5G, and AI through joint efforts with our partners.

In conclusion, I would like to express my gratitude to our shareholders for placing their confidence in me and appointing me to the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors in 2020, a difficult year for the entire economy and the telecoms industry. I would also like to thank my predecessor, Evgeny Bystrykh, who made a great contribution to the development of MegaFon throughout this successfully completed strategic cycle.

I would also like to sincerely thank my colleagues on the Board of Directors, the members of the Management Board and all MegaFon employees for their commitment, loyalty and professionalism. Each MegaFon employee contributes something of their own towards our common goal: to reach new heights in business and keep our customers and shareholders as satisfied as they possibly can be. There is no doubt in my mind that many more exciting initiatives, achievements and successes lie ahead of us.

Home previous
chapter
Chief Executive’s Review next
chapter
To the top of the page

Обращение Председателя Совета директоров

В 2020 году МегаФон завершил свой трехлетний стратегический цикл по трансформации в оператора цифровых возможностей и заложил прочную основу для достижения новой высоты в бизнесе и создании ценностей для клиентов, партнеров, акционеров и других заинтересованных сторон.

Иван Стрешинский
Председатель Совета директоров

Расскажите о тенденциях 2020 года на российском телеком­муникацион­ном рынке. Как на нем сказалась пандемия COVID-19?

Пандемия безусловно оказала негативное влияние на телекоммуникационную отрасль – в 2020 году российский рынок снизился на 0,7%, до 1,73 трлн руб. Абоненты и корпоративные клиенты, особенно в сегменте малого и среднего бизнеса, снижали активность и сокращали затраты, в том числе на связь. Также существенную роль сыграло резкое падение доходов от роуминга и сокращение числа мигрантов в условиях закрытия границ.

Вместе с этим массовый переход населения на самоизоляцию и удаленную работу в условиях ограничений, связанных с пандемией, в 2020 году вызвал резкий рост спроса на услуги видеоконференций и развлечений, такие как онлайн-ТВ, музыка и игры, что привело к существенному росту трафика как по фиксированным, так и по мобильным сетям. Также был отмечен существенный рост спроса на отдельные цифровые сервисы, в том числе на услуги информационной безопасности и облачных решений. Все это позволило операторам, имеющим развитую цифровую экосистему, во многом нивелировать эффект снижения потребления мобильных услуг.

Как вы оцениваете достижения МегаФона в 2020 году?

В течение 2020 года МегаФон оперативно реагировал на вызовы, связанные с пандемией. В сложных условиях мы смогли продемонстрировать финансовую устойчивость, выдержать возросшую нагрузку на сеть и перераспределение трафика. Несмотря на некоторое снижение выручки, мы продемонстрировали рост рентабельности по OIBDA и существенно нарастили чистую прибыль благодаря повышению операционной эффективности.

В условиях пандемии мы предоставили своим клиентам, обществу и государству целый ряд востребованных возможностей и решений, в том числе на безвозмездной основе. Вместе с тем мы оперативно перевели большую часть наших сотрудников на удаленную работу, одновременно обеспечив непрерывность бизнес-процессов.

В 2020 году мы расширили портфель цифровых продуктов для частных и корпоративных клиентов, сосредоточившись на самых перспективных из них. Также мы продолжили развивать нашу инфраструктуру, делая в первую очередь ставку на повышение качества связи, устойчивость сети, расширение покрытия 4G. Мы продолжили готовиться к запуску сетей пятого поколения и вместе с другими операторами вели диалог с регулирующими органами о выделении частот, необходимых для полномасштабного развертывания сетей 5G в России.

Нам удалось реализовать нашу основную цель и увеличить показатель LTV
на 34 %

Важным аспектом, влияющим на успех деятельности Компании, осталось выстраивание эффективных партнерств с лидерами рынка. В частности, в 2020 году мы продолжили развитие совместных проектов с нашим стратегическим партнером «ИКС Холдинг», приобрели долю в онлайн-кинотеатре Start, запустили FVNO-проект с участием локальных интернет-провайдеров и ряд других.

Помимо этого, в 2021 году «ЮэСэМ Телеком» и МегаФон с партнерами из Узбекистана создали совместное предприятие Digital Holding, которое призвано стать технологическим лидером крупнейшего в Центральной Азии телекоммуникационного рынка. Также МегаФон вместе с Mail.Ru Group, USM Group, Ant Group и РФПИ подписал документы по созданию двух совместных предприятий, которые будут предоставлять цифровые платежные решения и финансовые услуги.




В 2020 году МегаФон завершил свой трехлетний стратегический цикл. Как вы оцениваете его итоги, и какие новые приоритеты у Компании?

Действительно, в 2020 году МегаФон завершил трехлетний этап реализации стратегии «Развиваем цифровой мир», направленной на трансформацию Компании из мобильного оператора в оператора цифровых возможностей и достижение лидерских позиций в отрасли.

За этот период мы внедрили запланированные инициативы и развили важнейшие клиентоцентричные компетенции: создали аналитические сервисы для цифровой трансформации бизнеса и государства; внедрили инструменты для создания единой экосистемы общения, обслуживания и продаж, которая объединяет все каналы коммуникации с клиентами и партнерами; создали персональное предложение на основе анализа предпочтений абонента.

Хочу отдельно отметить, что за это время мы также запустили бизнес-трансформацию Компании, важнейшей частью которой является переход сотрудников на работу по Agile-методикам, уже демонстрирующий свою эффективность. Такой подход позволяет решать задачи эффективнее: сотрудникам – быстрее развиваться, а бизнесу – предлагать более клиентоориентированные услуги.

В целом, несмотря на негативное влияние пандемии на ключевые показатели эффективности, в 2020 году мы смогли подготовить надежную почву для будущего роста и достижения новых высот как в бизнесе, так и в создании ценностей для наших заинтересованных сторон. В первую очередь мы намерены сделать счастливыми наших клиентов, сотрудников и акционеров.

Расскажите об изменениях в системе корпоративного управления МегаФона в 2020 году.

Выстроенная структура корпоративного управления играет важнейшую роль в успешном развитии нашего бизнеса и помогает нам ставить цели и достигать их, эффективно управлять рисками, с которыми сталкивается Компания. Развитая система корпоративного управления также позволяет МегаФону строить и укреплять доверительные отношения с партнерами, контрагентами, сотрудниками и другими заинтересованными сторонами.

В июне 2020 года по итогам годового Общего собрания акционеров был избран новый Совет директоров, куда вошли Эмин Антонян, Йохан Эрик Деннелинд, Хачатур Помбухчан, Антон Черепенников. Все они являются признанными профессионалами на рынке и обладают обширными опытом и знаниями. Деннелинд Йохан Эрик при этом был признан независимым членом Совета директоров. Все остальные участники Совета директоров в 2020 году были неисполнительными директорами, но при этом не являлись независимыми.

Отдельно хочу отметить назначение в начале 2021 года Хачатура Помбухчана на должность Исполнительного директора Группы, которая в течение нескольких лет оставалась вакантной. Уверен, что его опыт в смежных отраслях позволит нам быть еще эффективнее, видеть новые возможности для развития и трансформации.

Чего ожидает МегаФон от 2021 года? Каковы дальнейшие планы Компании?

Скорее всего, в 2021 году пандемия продолжит негативно влиять на рынок в целом, но при этом в большинстве его сегментов можно будет ожидать тенденцию к восстановлению. В частности, вероятен рост мобильной абонентской базы, что в сочетании с частичным восстановлением роуминга обеспечит ускоренный рост доходов отрасли.

В этих условиях МегаФон продолжит концентрироваться на удовлетворении потребностей клиентов, развитии инфраструктуры и внедрении новых цифровых решений. Как и прежде, мы будем развивать проекты в области интернета вещей, сетей пятого поколения, искусственного интеллекта в сотрудничестве с нашими партнерами.

В заключение я хочу выразить признательность акционерам за оказанное доверие при назначении меня на должность Председателя Совета директоров в 2020 году, этом непростом для всей экономики и телекоммуникационной отрасли периоде. Хочу выразить благодарность своему предшественнику Евгению Быстрых, который внес большой вклад в развитие Компании в завершившемся стратегическом цикле.

Я бы также хотел искренне поблагодарить своих коллег по Совету директоров, членов Правления и всех работников Компании за их вовлеченность, лояльность и профессионализм. Каждый сотрудник МегаФона вносит личный вклад в общую цель – достичь новой высоты в бизнесе и сделать наших клиентов и акционеров самыми счастливыми. Уверен, что у нас впереди еще много интересных начинаний, достижений и успехов.

Главная Предыдущая
глава
Обращение Генерального директора Следующая
глава
В начало страницы